Date filter for SMB directory manager

If you think LogMX needs a new useful feature!
chamm

Date filter for SMB directory manager

Post by chamm »

I'm still learning this so far excellent application, but I think it would be incredibly useful if the SMB directory manager could include a date filter.

Both filtering only files between dates x and y, as well as within the last x days would be helpful.

Use case: I am using LogMX for logfiles in excess of 500MB per day over a remote SMB connection, across 8 different servers. The folders in question have 60 days of log files, so in order for me to set up a workspace, I would need to load an impossible amount of data. (500MB x 8 x 60 = ~240GB) Instead, I would set up the bookmark/workspace to only load files from the last day, and I could set those to only load the last 500 kb using the Tail settings.

There are also situations where I'll need to interlace files from those 8 different servers, but it's to look for an event that happened last Tuesday. Being able to filter the specific date(s) would make this possible, whereas now, I need to load and parse each logfile individually.

Overall, I'm quite impressed with the product so far. This humble suggestion would make it even better.

Thank you!
admin
Site Admin

Re: Date filter for SMB directory manager

Post by admin »

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback and for this good idea :)
How would you like LogMX to filter the files by date?:
  1. Automatically parsing all the files to get the timestamp of its log entries?
  2. Using file meta-data: last-modification-date of each file?
  3. Using file name? (e.g. "app-logs-2016-12-14.log")
Solution 1 seems difficult to implement and could take a long time.
Solution 2 seems a bit tricky because the log file may be modified only a few seconds after the end of the day when the logger finished rolling it (not sure, it's just an idea, but using this date may not be reliable for other reasons)